Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

A Reading and Conversation with Richard Tillinghast

October 10 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Join us on October 10 for a reading & conversation with poet, translator, and travel writer Richard Tillinghast.

Richard Tillinghast is author of twelve volumes of poetry and five  books of creative nonfiction including Damaged Grandeur, a critical memoir of Robert Lowell, Tillinghast’s poetry teacher at Harvard, Finding Ireland: a Poet’s Explorations of Irish Literature and Culture, which grew out of the six years he lived in Ireland, and Istanbul: City of Forgetting and Remembering (an “armchair traveller’s history” of the ancient city that has been an obsession of his for many years). His twenty years as a reviewer of new poetry for The New York Times Book Review led to a book of criticism called Poetry and What Is Real. Tillinghast is known as a literary travel writer in the tradition of Paul Bowles, Patrick Leigh Fermor, Evelyn Waugh, Robert Byron, and Truman Capote, but prefers to describe his travel books as meditations on place. For his work he has received grants from the Guggenheim Foundation, the NEA and the NEH, in addition to an Amy Lowell travel fellowship and awards from the British Council and the Irish Arts Council. He reads a choice selection from different genres of his writing: poetry, Turkish translation, and an excerpt from his 2017 book of personal writing on a lifetime of travel, Journeys into the Mind of the World. The reading will be followed by a conversation with his daughter, the poet and translator Julia ClareTillinghast. The daughter-father team have published Dirty August, a selection of poems by the late 20th-century Turkish poet Edip Cansever, and are currently working on a new selection. Brief Q & A to follow.

Details

Date:
October 10
Time:
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Event Category:
Event Tags:
, , ,

Venue

Mother Foucault’s Bookshop
523 SE Morrison St
Portland, OR 97214
+ Google Map

Organizer

Mother Foucault’s Bookshop
Email:
motherfoucaultsbookshop@gmail.com